Political Participation in the UK

Political Participation in the UK

Supreme Court: Composition

  • The Supreme Court is the highest court in the UK.
  • It is composed of 12 Justices, including a President and a Deputy President.
  • Justices are appointed by the Queen on the recommendation of a selection commission. The commission includes among others the current President and Deputy President of the court.
  • Any person who has held high judicial office for at least two years, or has been a qualified solicitor or barrister for at least fifteen years is eligible for appointment as a Justice of the Supreme Court.

Supreme Court: Underpinning Principles

  • Independence of Judiciary: The Supreme Court, like any other court in the UK, operates independently of the government.
  • Rule of Law: The Supreme Court defends the rule of law, ensuring that states act within the law.
  • Separation of Powers: The Supreme Court exemplifies the separation of powers as it performs the judiciary role of the state which is distinct from the legislature and the executive.
  • Finality of Judgement: Decisions made by the Supreme Court form case law, and are final and binding on all courts below it in the court hierarchy.

EU: Development

  • The European Union (EU) was formed to establish peace in post-second world war Europe and promote economic cooperation.
  • Policymaking has developed to cover more than economic cooperation to include areas like environment, justice, migration, and foreign policy.
  • The EU saw successive waves of enlargement, welcoming new member states to join the Union.

EU: Aims

  • The ultimate objective of the EU is to promote peace, its values and the well-being of its citizens.
  • The EU aims for sustainable development based on balanced economic growth: this includes a highly competitive social market economy, aiming at full employment and social progress.
  • The EU actively combats social exclusion and discrimination, promoting scientific and technological progress and enhancing economic, social and territorial cohesion and solidarity among EU countries.