Foundations of the Faith

Foundations of the Faith:

  • Tawhid: This is the cornerstone of Islamic faith. It asserts the belief in the oneness of God. Tawhid stresses that no one or thing shares Allah’s divine nature.
  • Risalah: Communicating with humans, Allah has sent messengers called prophets. These prophets deliver Allah’s divine guidance to humanity.

The Five Pillars of Islam:

  • Shahada: This is the declaration of faith, where Muslims testify there is no God but Allah and Muhammad is his messenger.
  • Salat: These are the compulsory prayers performed five times a day facing Mecca.
  • Zakat: This is the obligatory giving, where Muslims are expected to donate a set proportion of their wealth to the needy.
  • Sawm: This is fasting during the holy month of Ramadan, from sunrise to sunset.
  • Hajj: This is the pilgrimage to Mecca that every Muslim should do at least once in their life if they can afford it and are physically capable.

Basics of Islamic Law Shari’a:

  • Halal: Anything that is permissible under the law of Islam.
  • Haram: Anything that is forbidden under the law of Islam.
  • Shari’a law: A system of law and guidelines that govern the behaviour, ethics and lifestyle of Muslims based on the Qur’an and the teachings of the Prophet Muhammad.

Sunni and Shi’a:

  • Sunni: They are the largest sect of Islam. Sunni means ‘people of the tradition of Muhammad’ and Sunnis greatly respect the caliphs who they see as legitimate successors to Muhammad.
  • Shi’a: The name Shi’a comes from a political dispute over who should succeed Muhammad as caliph. Shi’a believe that Ali, Muhammad’s cousin and son-in-law, was the rightful successor.